FIND A LOCAL NETWORK

Finding like-minded people who can help inspire and encourage you to build a better world is so important – nobody wants to feel alone. The great thing is that there is already so much going on that you can get involved in!

Whether you wish to care for environment, the unborn, feeding the hungry, or listening to the lonely, there will be a local group that can help you help others.

If you wish to add anything or make a correction to any of the details on the map, please email: info@journeyto2030.org with “Local network” in the subject.

Local network map

Here is a map of networks and contacts, national and diocesan, who you can reach out to and get involved with. Simply click on the enticing yellow dot nearest you on the map.

What are these different networks?

What is a Diocese?

What is CARITAS?

WHAT IS CAFOD?

WHAT IS JUSTICE AND PEACE?

WHAT IS GREEN CHRISTIAN?

WORDS OF WISDOM on the importance of networks

ACTION STATIONS

Write to us

Do you have an inspiring story that you would like us to feature? Write to The Journey to 2030 at info@journeyto2030.org or click the link below.

FIND A LOCAL NETWORK

Find your diocese on the map and click to discover groups and contacts to support you in your diocese.

SIGN UP TO OUR MAILING LIST

Let us keep you in contact so that we can send you all the latest news and alert you to new features, blogs and more…

read laudato si'

Read the document that inspired The Journey to 2030.

ARUNDEL & BRIGHTON

Environmental lead: John Paul de Quay Email: jp@theecg.org

The Journey to 2030 Parish Representatives.
Email: parish_rep@journeyto2030.org for more details.

Care of Creation Working Group: jp@theecg.org

Caritas (Social Action) Advisor: tessa.ricketts@abdiocese.org.uk

CAFOD: Jenny Finlayson arundelandbrighton@cafod.org.uk

Regional group
London & Southeast Care of Creation (weekly Monday lunchtime Zoom meetings) – contact Colette Joyce: colletejoyce@rcdow.org.uk

Archdiocese of Birmingham

Environmnetal lead: Canon Gerry Murray canon.gerald.murray@rcoab.org.uk

Diocesan environmnet page:

CAFOD: Deborah Purfield, Sylvester Mutsigwa, and Joanne O’Meara birmingham@cafod.org.uk

Justice and Peace: Janet Vaughan admin.jandp@rcaob.org.uk

Green Christian Local Group (Birmingham): Rosina McGuigan birmingham@greenchristian.org.uk , Dick Withington (Rugby) rugby@greenchristian.org.uk  and Tom Piotrowski (Worcester) worcester@greenchristian.org.uk https://greenchristian.org.uk/green-christian-worcester-local-group/ https://www.facebook.com/Green.Christian.Worcester

Diocese of Clifton

Diocesan environment page:

CAFOD:  Liz clifton@cafod.org.uk

Green Christian Local Group: Martin Davis cheltenham@greenchristian.org.uk and Daphne Tomlinson (Nailsworth) nailsworth@greenchristian.org.uk

Diocese of Lancaster

CAFOD: Emma Nolan and Patrick Gardner lancaster@cafod.org.uk

Faith & Justice Commission & Environment Group http://www.lancasterfaithandjustice.co.uk/

Faith and Justice worker for Lancaster Diocese: Sue Grubic: ldfjsue@gmail.com
Address: St Bernadettes Church, 120 Bowerham Road, Lancaster, LA1 4HT

Diocese of Shrewsbury

CAFOD: Ciara Hogan shrewsbury@cafod.org.uk

Green Christian Local Group (Clun): Elisabeth Newman Isobelmurdoch@greenchristian.org.uk

Archdiocese of Cardiff

CAFOD: Therese Warwick southwales@cafod.org.uk

Green Christian Local Group (Hereford): Sheila Milne hereford@greenchristian.org.uk

Diocese of menevia

CAFOD: Therese Warwick southwales@cafod.org.uk

Diocese of Wrexham

CAFOD CPC: Colette northwales@cafod.org.uk

Green Christian Local Group (North Wales): Katja Jewell NorthWales@greenchristian.org.uk

Archdiocese of Liverpool

CAFOD: Siobhan and Colette liverpool@cafod.org.uk

Justice and Peace (there is an environment subgroup) Administrator Maria Hardacre: m.hardacre@rcaol.co.uk

Diocese of Plymouth

Environmental Lead and Caritas officer: Deborah Fisher caritas@prcdtr.org.uk

Plymouth diocese caritas website (social action)

Plymouth diocese website: The community and the wider world.

CAFOD: Simon plymouth@cafod.org.uk

Green Christian Local Group (Fareham): John Vivian fareham@greenchristian.org.uk, Olive Stevens (South West) southwest@greenchristian.org.uk, and Jane Stanfield (Stroud) stroud@greenchristian.org.uk

Diocese of Middlesbrough

Diocese of Leeds

Environmental lead: environment@dioceseofleeds.org.uk

Justice and Peace Commission, email John Battle for more information chair.jandp@dioceseofleeds.org.uk

Caritas Leeds: https://www.dioceseofleeds.org.uk/caritas/

Green Christian Local Group (Leeds): Paul Magnall leeds@greenchristian.org.uk

Diocese of Salford

Diocese of Hallam

CAFOD: Angela Powell hallam@cafod.org.uk

Hallam Caritas network: https://hallam-diocese.com/caritas/

Diocese of Northampton

Environmental lead: Alban Macdonald: environment@northamptondiocese.org

CAFOD: Deborah northampton@cafod.org.uk

Caritas (social action): 01604 434362 caritas@northamptondiocese.org

Justice & Peace Commission Coordinator: Fr. Tony Brennan tonywbrennan@gmail.com 01582 662710

Green Christian Local Group (Milton Keynes): David Miller miltonkeynes@greenchristian.org.uk

Diocese of EAST ANGLIA

CAFOD CPC: Jane Crone eastanglia@cafod.org.uk

Green Christian Local Group (Bungay): Lucy Johnson bungay@greenchristian.org.uk

Caritas (social action) Chair: Fr John Warrington, Administrator: Dr David Livesey, Development Worker: Jacinta Goode: caritas@rcdea.org.uk

Diocesan Justice and Peace website: https://www.rcdea.org.uk/justice-and-peace/

Diocesan Justice and Peace Commission
Chairperson: Deacon John Bell Rev John Bell, 3 Applewood Close, Cambridge, CB1 9NU.
Tel: 01223 503948  johnbell2010@btinternet.com

Diocese of Brentwood

Environmental lead: Fr Dominic Howarth frdominic@dioceseofbrentwood.org

Diocesan Laudato Si’ website: https://www.dioceseofbrentwood.net/laudatosi/

CAFOD: Chris Driscoll and Jane Crone: brentwood@cafod.org.uk

London & Southeast Care of Creation (weekly Monday lunchtime Zoom meetings) – contact Colette Joyce: colletejoyce@rcdow.org.uk

Green Guardians Group in cathedral parish – https://www.instagram.com/bcgreenguardians/?hl=en

Brentwood Caritas (social action): caritas@dioceseofbrentwood.org 01277 373959

Diocese of Southwark

Environmental lead Bishop Paul Hendricks: bishoppaul@rcaos.org.uk

CAFOD: Celeste and Sarah southwark@cafod.org.uk

Justice and Peace: Marie Bullard justiceandpeace@rcaos.org.uk
02079289742

London & Southeast Care of Creation (weekly Monday lunchtime Zoom meetings) – contact Colette Joyce: colletejoyce@rcdow.org.uk

Green Christian Local Group (Folkestone): Jacqueline Durban folkestone@greenchristian.org.uk

And Catherine Linney (Medway) medway@greenchristian.org.uk

Diocese of Portsmouth

CAFOD: Jo portsmouth@cafod.org.uk

Portsmouth Caritas (social action) Website: https://www.portsmouthdiocese.org.uk/caritas

Portsmouth Justice and Peace: https://www.portsmouthdiocese.org.uk/justiceandpeace

London & Southeast Care of Creation (weekly Monday lunchtime Zoom meetings) – contact Colette Joyce: colletejoyce@rcdow.org.uk

Green Christian Local Group (Reading): Joanna Laynesmith reading@greenchristian.org.uk – webpage https://greenchristian.org.uk/about/local-groups/reading-area-green-christians/

Diocese of Westminster

CAFOD: Tony Sheen westminster@cafod.org.uk

London & Southeast Care of Creation (weekly Monday lunchtime Zoom meetings) – contact Colette Joyce: colletejoyce@rcdow.org.uk

Westminster Justice and Peace Website: https://westminsterjusticeandpeace.org/

Westminster Caritas (Social action): https://www.caritaswestminster.org.uk/

Green Christian Local Group (Barnet): Tony Shepherd barnet@greenchristian.org.uk

What is a Catholic diocese?

A diocese is: The collection of people and their parishes, in a particular geographic area under care and direction of a particular Bishop.
It is a bit like a county.

These diocese are collected together under a Bishops’ conference. In the UK there are three Bishops Conferences.
These are a bit like countries.

What is Caritas?

In England and Wales some  dioceses are part of the Caritas social action network. This aims to ensure families and communities, live with peace and human dignity in England and Wales.

This network helps coordinate community and specialist support for families and children, the elderly, people who are homeless, refugees, the disabled, and prisoners.

What is CAFOD?

CAFOD is the international development charity and the official aid agency of the Catholic Church in England and Wales.

They work in Humanitarian aid, disasters relief, and reaching out to those in poverty overseas and campaigning for global justice. Sustainable development and protection of creation is a key part of their work.

Justice and Peace logo

What is Justice and Peace?

Justice and Peace groups are found in most diocese and many parishes. They form an organising group to raise awareness of injustices, global and national. Covering a huge amount of topics such as the arms trade, Life issues, animal cruelty, human trafficking.

What are Green Christian groups?

Green Christian are a community of ordinary Christians from all backgrounds and traditions.

Green Christian Local Groups are groups of ordinary people supporting one another in their ecological discipleship and, in so doing, being vital signs of the kingdom for our times.

ARUNDEL & BRIGHTON

Environmnetal lead: John Paul de Quay Email: jp@theecg.org
Diocesan environmnet page:
The Journey to 2030 Parish Representatives.
Email parish_rep@journeyto2030.org for more details.
Environment Group: Ashley Ralston (Ashley.ralston@ntlworld.com)
Social Action Advisor:
CAFOD: Jenny Finlayson arundelandbrighton@cafod.org.uk

Regional group
London & Southeast Care of Creation (weekly Monday lunchtime Zoom meetings) – contact Colette Joyce: colletejoyce@rcdow.org.uk